Skip to content
Northern Powerhouse European Union

Exporting goods to outside the EU

Key Changes

What businesses need to do

The UK has continued to access EU trade agreements with other countries during the transition period, giving access to around 40 non-EU markets. When the transition period ends on 31 December 2020 these agreements will no longer apply. Instead, the UK has been progressing its own Free Trade Agreements (FTAs), with many continuity agreements secured with key markets such as Norway, Israel and South Korea. You can check what continuity agreements are in place and those that are still being negotiated. 

The UK is also negotiating FTA’s with the USA, Japan, Australia, New Zealand and have plans to progress talks with the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP). 

Where trading agreements have not been agreed trade with other World Trade Organisation (WTO) members will take place on WTO terms, when EU trade agreements cease to apply to the UK from the 1st January 2021. 

This guidance reflects the latest information available; we will endeavour to keep this page updated when new information is released. 

Get in Touch